Skip to content

Aboriginal community advisory groups to continue to be a voice for their communities

The Western Local Board has endorsed the new Western Local Land Services Aboriginal Community Advisory Groups, giving landholders and community members a point of contact to discuss issues and identify opportunities.

The Aboriginal Community Advisory Groups, which are made up of landholders and community members from throughout the Western region, are not new to Western Local Land Services having been established in 2015.

In total, there are three Aboriginal Community Advisory Groups in the Western region based in geographical areas, loosely being Balranald, Wentworth and Hillston in the south, Broken Hill and unincorporated in the west and Bourke and Cobar in the north. 

The new Aboriginal Community Advisory Groups are:

  • South – Lawrence Clarke (chair), Rick Ohlsen, Peter Harris, Lawrence Payne and Faye Johnstone.
  • West – Dennis Hall (chair), Cheryl Blore, Gerald Quayle and Jennifer Bates.
  • North – Julie Knight (chair), Joan Evans, Peter Hardy, Edward Orcher and Thomas Morris.

Chair of the Western Local Board, Ben Barlow was pleased to have the members of the Aboriginal Community Advisory Groups locked in for another term.

“All the members bring a variety of experience and personal qualities to each group and that ensures a broad range of views from the community are represented and considered,” Mr Barlow said.

“The Board were pleased to see a majority of our original members recommit to another term as an Aboriginal Community Advisory Group member while it was also great to see a number of new people put their hands up.

“We enjoy a close working relationship with our groups which will provide positive outcomes for landholders and community members in the Western region.”

Further information on our Aboriginal Community Advisory Groups can be found under the Our Region section of this website.

Media contact:
Charlie Whiteley, Western Local Land Services, 0428 679 974.