Skip to content

New community advisory groups selected for the Western region

Landholders throughout the Western region have several new representatives they can call on after the Western Local Land Services Local Community Advisory Groups were selected following an expression of interest process.

The Local Community Advisory Groups, which are made up of landholders and community members from throughout the Western region, were endorsed by the Western Local Board at their August and September meetings.

In total, there are three Local Community Advisory Groups in the Western region based in geographical areas, loosely being Balranald, Wentworth and Hillston in the south, Broken Hill and unincorporated in the west and Bourke and Cobar in the north.

The new Local Community Advisory Groups are:

  • South – Gus Whyte (chair), Cosimo Cirillo, Clive Linnett, John McKeon, Marc O’Halloran and Chris Stanmore.
  • West – Louise Turner (chair), Anika Molesworth, Luke Reynolds, David Sandow while Luke O'Connor and Bodie Hill are ongoing members as their previous terms hadn't expired.
  • North – Stuart Mosely (chair), Michael Davis, Dannielle Ward and Greg Standfield.

Chair of the Western Local Board, Ben Barlow was pleased to see such strong candidates nominate to represent their local communities and their interests.

“Our Local Community Advisory Groups are vitally important as their first-hand knowledge of what they and others in their areas are experiencing on the ground is vital for us as a board to hear about,” Mr Barlow said.

“It helps us make strategic decisions regarding our services and how they are being delivered.

“I and all the board members are looking forward to having a close working relationship with the Local Community Advisory Groups in the months and years to come.”

Download more information on the Local Community Advisory Groups.

Media contact: Charlie Whiteley, Western Local Land Services, 0428 679 974.