Skip to content

White Cliffs landholder appointed advisory group chair

White Cliffs landholder Louise Turner is one of three Western Local Region locals named to chair a newly-formed Local Community Advisory Group in the region.

Mrs Turner has been a landholder in the region for more than 16 years and she has a passion for the land and the environment.

"I believe if we want good things to come out of a community then we firstly have to put time and effort in," she said.

"As the saying goes "it takes a community to raise a child"… and with the Local Land Services Western Region still in its infancy, advisory groups will play an important role," she said.

Western Local Board Chairman, Tom Hynes welcomed the appointment of Mrs Turner as chair of the Broken Hill, Tibooburra and Wilcannia Local Community Advisory Group.

"Louise Turner has a wealth of knowledge - not only is she an experienced land manger, but she also has more than 20 years of experience in both private enterprise and in the public sector working in natural resource, sustainable agriculture and conservation management," he said.

"There are still vacancies on the Local Community Advisory Groups and I urge people to get involved to help these chairs make a difference.

"The Local Community Advisory Groups have been created to provide input into the development of plans, projects and services and be a link between the Western Local Board and the community."

Each group will consist of six Western Local Region residents, with at least three positions on each group will representing local industry.

Local Community Advisory Group members will be expected to attend at least three meetings a year and sitting fees will be paid.

Other Local Community Advisory Group chairs are:

  • Balranald, Wentworth, Hillston and Ivanhoe - chaired by Angus Whyte "Wyndham Station" Wentworth
  • Cobar, Bourke, Brewarrina and Wanaaring - chaired by Stuart Mosely of "Manuka" Cobar.

Mr Hynes said the groups would meet in the coming months and anyone interested in applying to be a member should download an application form , email Erlina Compton or phone 0458 944 614.

Media contact:
Donna Ambler 0400 258 690
Chairman Tom Hynes 0438 887 275