Skip to content

Cobar, Bourke, Brewarrina Local Community Advisory Group Members Announced

Seven community members have been appointed to the Local Community Advisory Group for Cobar, Bourke and Brewarrina to provide advice to Local Land Services Western Region.
Cobar landholder Stuart Mosely will chair the group, which is one of three newly-formed Local Community Advisory Groups.
Members of the group are:
Stuart Mosely (chair), Cobar
Danielle Ward, Condobolin
Sam Gunn, Condobolin
David Akers, Bourke
Rob Chambers, Osterley Downs
Ashley McMurtrie, Cobar
Tony Thompson, Bourke.
Mr Mosely has lived in the Western Division for more than 65 years and during that time he hasadapted his management styles to meet the challenges of invasive native scrub and the fluctuatingfortunes of the wool industry.
At a combined meeting of all three groups at Broken Hill, Mr Mosely said the group was enthusiastic
about the task of providing input to the Western Local Board.
"I look forward to the opportunity of beingpart of a group that can raise issues of concern and matters that are important to our community to the Western Local Board," Mr Mosely said.
"I believe we have a wide range of knowledge and experience amongst these group members and we
are excited about the challenge that lies ahead."
Western Local Board Chairman, Tom Hynes was impressed with the enthusiasm that the 23 group
members from throughout the region brought to the combined meeting.
"The people who have put their hands up to represent the local community have an amazing wealth of
knowledge as land managers, community members and within local industry," he said.
"Many have worked in natural resource management roles and they have shown a high level of commitment to sustainable agriculture practices and conservation management.
"The Local Community Advisory Groups have been created to provide input into the development of
plans, projects and services and be a link between the Western Local Board and the community and I
expect they will be an important part of our decision-making process."
Media contact:
Donna Ambler 0400 258 690
Chairman Tom Hynes 0438 887 275