Skip to content

Cobar landholder appointed advisory committee chair

Well-known Cobar landholder Stuart Mosely is one of three Western Local Region locals named to chair newly-formed Local Community Advisory Groups in the region.

Mr Mosely has lived in the Western Division for more than 65 years and during that time he has adapted his management styles to meet the challenges of invasive native scrub and the fluctuating fortunes of the wool industry.

"I look forward to the opportunity of being part of a group that can raise issues of concern and matters that are important to our community to the Western Local Board," Mr Mosely said.

Western Local Board Chairman, Tom Hynes welcomed the appointment of Mr Mosely as chair of the Cobar, Bourke, Brewarrina and Wanaaring Local Community Advisory Group.

"Stuart Mosely is an innovative land manager who has represented his region as a member of NSW Farmers Association as well as being a guiding light in the Landcare movement," he said.

"There are still vacancies on the Local Community Advisory Groups and I urge people to get involved to help these chairs make a difference.

"The Local Community Advisory Groups have been created to provide input into the development of plans, projects and services and be a link between the Western Local Board and the community."

Each group will consist of six Western Local Region residents, with at least three positions on each group will representing local industry.

Local Community Advisory Group members will be expected to attend at least three meetings a year and sitting fees will be paid.

The other Local Community Advisory Group chairs are:

  • Balranald, Wentworth, Hillston and Ivanhoe - chaired by Angus Whyte "Wyndham Station" Wentworth
  • Broken Hill, Tibooburra and Wilcannia - chaired by Louise Turner of Goodwood Station," White Cliffs.

Mr Hynes said the groups would meet in the coming months and anyone interested in applying to be a member should download an application form or email Erlina Compton. Phone Erlina on 0458 944 614.

Media contact:
Donna Ambler 0400 258 690
Chairman Tom Hynes 0438 887 275