Skip to content

Western Local Land Services to begin operation in January

Western Local Land Services will become operational in January 2014 with staff providing service from twelve towns within the Western Region.

Western Local Land Services will provide landholders and the community with natural resource management, agricultural, plant and animal pest control, biosecurity and emergency management advice.

Chair of Western Local Land Services, Tom Hynes, says the organisation will enable staff to provide more comprehensive services tailored to living and working in western NSW.

“There will be Local Land Services offices in Balranald, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Buronga, Cobar, Dubbo, Hillston, Tibooburra, Wanaaring, Wentworth and Wilcannia,” Mr Hynes said.

“Although the Western Region comprises 40% of NSW, having such a large number of offices will enable us to connect with local communities and build on existing networks.

“As with all NSW government offices, there will be minimum staff during the New Year period, however, the usual emergency services for biosecurity issues will be in place,” he said.

The next few months will be busy for Western Local Land Services.  The current board will meet for the first time in Balranald on December 20, 2013.  The Western Local Land Services Board Members appointed by the NSW Minister for Primary Industries, Katrina Hodgkinson, are Tom Hynes, Ben Barlow, Jim Maynard, Justin McClure and Marie Russell. 

A further four members will be elected by ratepayers.  Ratepayers need to enrol to vote by February 17, 2014 as the electoral rolls of Livestock Health and Pest Authorities will not be automatically transferred to Local Land Services.

“Anyone can nominate themselves for a position on the board and we would like a wide range of geographical areas and interested represented.  Nominations close on January 31, 2014,” Mr Hynes said.

More information on elections is available at

Call 1300 795 299 to contact your Local Land Service office from Monday to Friday during business hours.