Skip to content

Western Local Landcare Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Western Local Landcare Awards and all landholders and groups involved in land management and environmental initiatives are encouraged to enter.

The awards, which are open for nominations from now until 31 March, recognise the work of individuals, groups and organisations that focus on projects which help manage or improve their patch of the Western region.

Entrants will compete across eight categories for their share of $4,000 in prizemoney, with winners automatically entered into the 2017 NSW Landcare Awards.

The regional winner of the 2015 Indigenous Land Management category, Dwayne Evans from “Weinteriga Station”, ended up winning at the state level and going onto the National Landcare Awards.

Landholders and land managers, Landcare groups and pest management groups are encouraged to nominate.

Day care centres, primary and secondary schools, youth groups, scout groups and other organisations who have shown initiative and dedication to improving their local landscape and natural resources should also apply.

The eight categories for the 2017 Western Local Landcare Awards are:

  • individual Landcarer
  • innovation in sustainable farm practices
  • Landcare community group
  • Indigenous land management
  • junior Landcare team
  • Landcare facilitator/coordinator
  • partnerships with Landcare
  • young Landcare leader.

Judging will take place in April 2017 and winners will be announced at the Western Local Landcare Awards ceremony.

Entry forms can be downloaded here, are available from any Local Land Services Western Region office or by phoning 1300 795 299.